PO Box 1406, Woodstock, NY  12498, T 845.679.4265 F 509.479.5414
            Email: info@woodstockfilmfestival.com, www.woodstockfilmfestival.com
meira blaustein
executive director
advisory board
judy arthur
eamon bowles
ellen chenoweth
melissa chesman
michael dorf
martha frankel
leon gast
ethan hawke
sabine hoffman
gill holland
michael lang
paul mones
stephen nemeth
jeremiah newton
annie nocenti
ron nyswaner
sarah plant
aidan  quinn
bingham ray
peter saraf
susan seidelman
zachary sklar
john sloss
david strathairn
lemore syvan



Ilene Marder Media Relations - 845/246-1122, ilene@woodstockfilmfestival.com
Meira Blaustein, Executive Director - 845/679-4265, meira@woodstockfilmfestival.com



(Woodstock, NY) April 10: The 4th annual "Fiercely Independent" Woodstock
Film Festival will unveil September 17-21 2003  and vows to continue wowing
audiences and industry members with an outstanding variety of  films,
seminars, workshops, concerts and cool parties in a relaxed, receptive
community surrounded by some of the most beautiful landscapes in the world.

Film submissions are being accepted for 2003. The early-bird deadline is
April 15 2003. The final deadline is June 15 2003. Awards are presented for
Best Feature,  Best Documentary, Best Short Documentary, Best Short Film,
Best Student Film,  Best Cinematography (The Haskell Wexler Award), and Best
Animation (Awarded by Bill Plympton).  Entry fees range from $25 - $50.
Specialty programming include: Focus on Music and Exposure (an Exploration
of Movies that Matter)

Entry Forms are available online at http://www.woodstockfilmfestival.com

The 2003 festival promises to be even better than ever.  Currently
festival's programmer Ryan Werner and festival director Meira Blaustein are
hard at work securing some of the most outstanding films of 2003.

In 2002  the Woodstock Film Festival presented an extraordinary lineup of
more than 125 features, documentaries and shorts including some of the most
talked about films of the season, such as the U.S. premiere of Todd Haynes'
Academy Award nominee and Spirit Awards winner Far From Heaven, Jeffrey
Blitz and Sean Welch's Academy Award nominated documentary Spellbound,
Rebecca Miller's Sundance and the Spirit Awards winner Personal Velocity,
Tim Blake Nelson's The Grey Zone, Gus Van Sant's Gerry and Paul Justman's
Standing in the Shadows of Motown.   The honorary Maverick Award was
presented to actor/writer/director Tim Robbins. An estimated 7000 people
attended WFF events. Virtually every event was sold-out.

Additionally, many industry members such as Tim Robbins, Marcia Gay Harden,
Parker Posey, Liev Schreiber, Ethan Hawke, Aidan Quinn, Benjamin Bratt,
David Strathairn, Todd Haynes, Christine Vachon, Elmer Bernstein, Haskell
Wexler, Ismail Merchant, John Sloss, Bingham Ray, D.A. Pennebaker, Albert
Maysles, Barbara Kopple, Leon Gast, Bill Plympton, Mary Harron, Jason Kliot,
Ira Deutchman, Paola Freccero, Wendy Lidell, Arlo Guthrie, Phish (the band),
Gov't Mule, and many more came from near and far to participate in the

Also present at screenings were many members of the Academy of Motion
Pictures and Arts including the likes of Elmer Berstein, Haskell Wexler,
Zachary Sklar, Leon Gast, Peter Saraf, Joel Coen, James Ivory, Ruth Prawer
Jhabvala, Alexander Payne, Jim Taylor, Ron Nyswaner and many others.

The festival looks forward to seeing you in Woodstock this September! Please
contact us early for accommodations and accreditation.

t. 845 679-4265
e. info@woodstockfilmfestival.com
w. woodstockfilmfestival.com

The Woodstock Film Festival is a not-for-profit, (501) C-3 organization with
a mission to present  an annual program and year- round schedule of
film-related activities  combining inspired learning and the promotion of
sustainable economic development by attracting film, video and media
production to the Hudson Valley /Catskills region.