If link breaks, please visit http://www.woodstockfilmfestival.com/press/releases/2014_10_portman_connelly.htm
CONTACT: Angela DeMarta, Deputy Press Director, press@woodstockfilmfestival.com or 845-679-4265

Woodstock, NY (October, 2014) - The Woodstock Film Festival is pleased to announce that Academy-Award winning actresses JENNIFER CONNELLY and NATALIE PORTMAN will co-present the Honorary Maverick Award to director DARREN ARONOFSKY at the 15th annual Maverick Awards Ceremony. Both of these esteemed actresses have played leading roles in some of Aronofsky's most acclaimed films, including REQUIEM FOR A DREAM and NOAH (Connelly), and BLACK SWAN (Portman). The annual Maverick Awards Ceremony is held at Backstage Studio Productions in Kingston, NY, and features presentations to winning filmmakers and honorary recipients, in addition to a cocktail hour, buffet and live music by Paul Green and the Internet Trolls. The public is invited to attend. Tickets for the Maverick Awards Ceremony can be purchased ONLINE or by visiting the box office at 13 Rock City Road in Woodstock.

"It is a true honor to host Natalie Portman and Jennifer Connelly at this year's Maverick Awards Ceremony," said Woodstock Film Festival Co-Founder and Executive Director Meira Blaustein. "Receiving the Maverick Award from actresses who have worked with him and admire his directorial innovations will make this accolade that much more meaningful for Darren."


Natalie Portman starred in Aronofsky's 2010 thriller, BLACK SWAN. The role garnered her an Academy Award for Best Actress in 2011 for her dynamic performance. Portman first charmed audiences at the age of eleven in Luc Besson's 1994 film, THE PROFESSIONAL. Perhaps best known for her work in George Lucas' STAR WARS prequel trilogy, Portman has since built an extensive resume, appearing in audience favorites like GARDEN STATE, ANYWHERE BUT HERE, V FOR VENDETTA, and the recent blockbuster THOR. She was also nominated for a supporting role in 2004's CLOSER at the 2005 Oscars. She has also been honored at the Golden Globes, Screen Actors Guild Awards, BAFTA Awards and many more for her memorable performances. Portman will be seen next starring in JANE GOT A GUN opposite Joel Edgerton and Ewan McGregor, and Terrence Malick's upcoming untitled project as well as Malick's KNIGHT OF CUPS. Making her feature-length directorial debut, Portman will also release A TALE OF LOVE AND DARKNESS, which she wrote, produced, directed, and stars in.

In addition to being directed by Aronofsky in REQUIEM FOR A DREAM and NOAH, Jennifer Connelly won the Academy Award for Best Supporting Actress in 2002 for her role in A BEAUTIFUL MIND. Recently, her film SHELTER, written and directed by her husband Paul Bettany, premiered at the Toronto Film Festival. Earlier in the year, her film ALOFT, directed by Claudia Llosa, premiered at the Berlin Film Festival. ALOFT will be released by Sony Classics in 2015. Earlier next year, Connelly will begin filming Philip Roth's AMERICAN PASTORAL, to be directed by Philip Noyce. She will star opposite Ewan McGregor and Dakota Fanning.

The Honorary Maverick Award is presented each year to an individual whose life and work is driven by creativity, independent vision and social activism. Also being honored at this year's Maverick Awards is Mark Duplass (CREEP, THE PUFFY CHAIR, JEFF WHO LIVES AT HOME) who will be receiving the first annual Fiercely Independent Award, presented by Radius -TWC co-president Tom Quinn. The Awards Ceremony also includes presentation of awards for Best Feature Narrative, Best Feature Documentary, Best Short Narrative, Best Short Documentary, Best Student Short, the Animation Award, the James Lyons Editing Award, the Diane Seligman Awards, the Haskell Wexler Award for Best Cinematography, the Tangerine Entertainment Juice Award for Best Female Director and newly added Ultra Indie Award.

The winners from the films in competition will be chosen by this year's roster of jurors, including: Academy Award winner Melissa Leo, actors Terry Kinney and Lori Singer, film critics and journalists Thelma Adams and Logan Hill, Academy Award winning documentary filmmakers Leon Gast, Barbara Kopple and Joe Berlinger, renowned cinematographer Haskell Wexler, and more.

Other participants at this year's Woodstock Film Festival include Emmy winners Courteney Cox and Tony Kushner, Pauly Shore, Ron Nyswaner, Bruce Greenwood, Grammy Award winners Steve Earle and jazz legend Hugh Masekela, David Broza and many more.

For more information on this year's festival lineup of films, panels, concerts and special events and to purchase tickets, follow WFF on social media and visit www.woodstockfilmfestival.com.



About the Woodstock Film Festival:
Hailed by Indiewire as "A true American Maverick Among Fests," the Woodstock Film Festival premieres exceptional films, hosts the most talented emerging and established professionals in the movie industry, presents A-list concerts, panels and parties, and creates stimulating, innovative programming year-round.

The Woodstock Film Festival is a non-profit, 501c3 organization with a mission to present an annual program and year-round schedule of film, music and art-related activities that promote artists, culture, inspired learning and diversity.

The Woodstock Film Festival will celebrate its 15th Annual Festival October 15-19, 2014, with an extraordinary lineup of fiercely independent films, panels, concerts and special events in Woodstock, NY and the neighboring towns of Rhinebeck, Kingston, Rosendale and Saugerties.








P.O Box 1406, Woodstock, NY 12498 - (845) 679-4265
info@woodstockfilmfestival.com - www.woodstockfilmfestival.com