See release online at


Contact: Ilene Marder,,  (845) 246-1122
or Gabe Meyers, 845-679-4265

Hi-Rez Photos available at

/Trail-blaz-er /: an innovative leader in a field; a pioneer

Click for hi resolution

(Woodstock, NY) September 2,2009: Award-winning producer Ted Hope, one of the most respected independent producers in the film industry, will be honored with the honorary Trailblazer Award at the 10th Anniversary edition of the Woodstock Film Festival, Sept. 30-Oct. 4. Cited within the industry as one of the most influential people in the indie film business, Mr. Hope embodies the spirit of the Trailblazer Award, which honors creative and innovative pioneers in the art of the business of independent film. Mr. Hope will receive the award at the WFF Gala Awards Ceremony on Saturday night, October 3rd.

"I can't emphasize enough how thrilled we are to have Ted Hope as our 2009 Trailblazer recipient" said Meira Blaustein, co-founder and director of WFF. "He is simply one of the most talented, influential and supportive producers in independent film, and undoubtedly one of the bravest when it comes to standing up for the filmmakers vision -- he truly embodies the innovative spirit of the Trailblazer award".

"The Woodstock Film Festival is the ultimate community fest: you feel the passion for film, not just as an art form but also as to what film can do to elevate our hopes, our world, and to bring us together," said Hope, who has participated in past WFF programs. "It's very unique and I have aspired to a similar quality in all that I do. To be now recognized for that by the festival's Trailblazer Honor, will inspire me to continue on this trail until we hopefully reach the mountaintop -- or at least until we get out of the woods!"

A survey of Hope's work includes many highlights and breakthroughs of the last two decades. He enjoys a reputation as an unparalleled spotter of new talent, producing the first films of Ang Lee, Hal Hartley, and Michel Gondry. He has produced more than 50 films that have won numerous awards, honors, and citations, including several Academy Awards, Golden Globes, and the Palm d'Or at the Cannes Film Festival. Together with partner Anne Carey, he runs the New York production company This is that, formed out of Good Machine, the groundbreaking indie production house that he co-founded with writer/producer James Schamus. In 2001, Good Machine was honored with a ten-year retrospective at the Museum of Modern Art in New York.

This is that's first year alone yielded such films as Alejandro Gonzalez Inarritu's 21 Grams, Michel Gondry & Charlie Kaufman's Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mind, and Kip Williams' The Door in the Floor. Recent work from This is that includes Greg Mottola's Adventureland, Tamara Jenkin's The Savages, and Alan Ball's feature film directorial debut Towelhead.

Hope is one of the few producers consistently delivering vital and exciting new work, including a colossal twenty-three Sundance entries. Among his accomplishments are the Sundance Grand Jury Prize-winner American Splendor, Todd Field's In The Bedroom, many of Ang Lee's films including The Ice Storm and the Academy Award-nominated The Wedding Banquet, Edward Burns' The Brothers McMullen, and the Cannes Critics' Prize-winning Happiness, which Hope and his partners released themselves when its distributor's corporate parent demanded they censor the film.

Hope is a sought-out lecturer at industry events worldwide. He has been a jury member at Sundance and the Miami Film Festivals, as well as the Woodstock Film Festival. He also co-founded Hammer To Nail, a film review site focused only on independent features and writes several blogs including Truly Free Film.

He was the recipient of the 2009 Vision Award at the Filmmakers Alliance/Vision Quest ceremony in Los Angeles last week. Follow the links below for his comments, including the introduction by Alan Ball (American Beauty, Six Feet Under, True Blood):

(Ted Hope's comments starts at 4:41)

Past WFF Honorary Trailblazer Award recipients include Focus Features CEO James Schamus, Ted Sarandos of Netflix, Jonathan Sehring of IFC Entertainment, and John Sloss of Cinetic Media.

Maverick Awards Ceremony: The Gala WFF Awards Ceremony will be presented Saturday night, October 3, at Backstage Productions in nearby Kingston NY. The awards evening has grown into a stellar event and includes presentation of the Honorary Maverick Award, The Honorary Trailblazer Award, The Lee Marvin Award for Best Narrative Feature, Best Feature Documentary, Best Short Narrative, Best Short Documentary, Best Animated Short, Best Student Short, the James Lyons Award for Excellence in Film Editing, and the Haskell Wexler Award for Best Cinematography.

The 10th annual Woodstock Film Festival will take place September 30th-October 4th, 2009.  The “fiercely independent” festival includes more than 150 films, panels, concerts and special events in Woodstock and the neighboring towns of Kingston, Rhinebeck and Rosendale. For more information visit

Celebrating its tenth anniversary, the Woodstock Film Festival premiers exceptional films; hosting the most talented emerging and established professionals in the movie industry; presenting A-list concerts, parties and panels, and creating stimulating, innovative programming year-round.

The Woodstock Film Festival is a not-for-profit, 501©(3) organization whose mission is to present an annual program and year-round schedule of film, music and art-related activities that promotes artists, culture, inspired learning, and diversity.

For more information please call (845) 679-4265 or visit

P.O Box 1406, Woodstock, NY 12498 - (845) 679-4265 -