PO Box 1406, Woodstock, NY  12498, T  845.679.4265  F 509.479.5414
E-mail: info@woodstockfilmfestival.com,www.woodstockfilmfestival.com

meira blaustein
executive director

laurent rejto
director of development

elmer bernstein
honorary chair  emeritus

advisory board
aidan  quinn
annie nocenti
bill plympton
david strathairn
eamonn bowles
ellen chenoweth
ethan hawke
fisher stevens
gill holland
griffin dunne
ira schreck
jeremiah newton
john sloss
judy arthur
lemore syvan
leon gast
liev schreiber
martha frankel
michael  lang
peter saraf
ron nyswaner
sabine hoffman
sarah plant
stephen hays
steve savage
zachary sklar
lemore syvan


CONTACT: Brigid Walsh 845-679-4265



(Woodstock, NY) October 2nd, 2005: The 2005 Woodstock Film Festival awarded Best Feature honors to CAVITE at the Awards Ceremony, Sunday, October 2nd in Woodstock, New York at the Bearsville Theatre. The award was one of ten awards given out on the last night of the five-day festival.

The Maverick Award for BEST FEATURE presented to directors Ian Gamazon and Neill dela Llana for CAVITE, which follows an American citizen visiting his hometown of Cavite, Philippines where people will do just about anything to survive.  Upon his arrival he receives a phone call from an anonymous informing him that his mother and sister have been kidnapped for ransom.  Helpless and alone in a country he barely knows, he must submit himself to the kidnappers every wish. 

Jurors for this category included: Peter Saraf, Anne Walker-McBay and Fisher Stevens. Award sponsored by Markertek.com

BEST DOCUMENTARY was presented to Directors Kief Davidson and Richard Ladkani for THE DEVIL’S MINER, a compelling story told through the eyes of two adolescents about life as a miner in southern Bolivia.  Devout Catholics, the miners sever their ties with God upon entering the mountain.  It is an ancient belief that the devil, represented by hundreds of statues constructed in the tunnels, determines the fate of all who work within the mines. 

Jurors for this category included: Nancy Abraham, David D’Arcy, and Brett Morgan. Award sponsored by A&E Indie Films and Docurama

The Audience Awards:

Best Feature:  TRANSAMERICA, (directed by Duncan Tucker) Bree (Felicity Huffman) is days away from a dream she has focused on for years-the completion of her gender reassignment surgery.  Her plans come to a grinding halt when she receives a call that her son has been picked up by the police.

Best Documentary: BOYS OF BARAKA, (directed by Heidi Ewing and Rachel Grady) a stunning coming-of-age story that follows a group of extraordinary 12-year old boys from the most violent ghettos of Baltimore who leaves everything they know to attend an experimental boarding school in the most rural corner of Kenya. 

Best Short Documentary was presented to director Steve Furman for RIDE OF THE MERGANSERS, an unexpected and heart-warming blend of natural history, humor and suspense.  

Jurors for this category included: Leon Gast and Michael Cristofer. The award is sponsored by Docurama

The Haskell Wexler Award for Cinematography was presented to Director of Photography, P.J. Raval for the film ROOM.  The film, directed by Kyle Henry, explores the mid-life crisis of a working-class American woman as she steps outside of her traditional role for a chance at self-discovery. The award is sponsored by Kodak.

The Best Animation Award, judged and presented by pioneering animators Bill Plympton and Signe Baumane, was awarded to LIFE IN TRANSITION, by director John Dilworth.  The film is a visual and symbolic journey depicting the continual transformations of life from birth to death to re-birth. 

An honorable mention in this category was given to THE BACK BRACE, directed by Andy and Carolyn London.

The Diane Seligman Award for Best Short Film was awarded to director Javier Fesser for BINTA AND THE GREAT IDEA, a charming and funny story about children in Africa.  The film was made in collaboration with UNICEF.  

An honorable mention for Experimental Short in this category was given to the film WHAT I’M LOOKING FOR, directed by Shelly Silver. 

Jurors in this category included Gill Holland, Director Morgan J. Freeman and Debra Granik. The award is sponsored by Lowel-Light.

The Diane Seligman Award for Best Student Short Film  was awarded to Columbia University MFA student/director, Ian Olds for the film TWO MEN.  A film which follows a small town loser who, after being humiliated in the bathroom of the local bowling alley, spends the rest of the night trying to reclaim his dignity. The stranger he discovers in the back of his car has other ideas. 

An honorable mention in this category was given to FUTURE IMPERFECT, directed by Marshall Lewy. 

Jurors for this category included Jeremiah Newton, Amy Devra Gossels and Jeffrey Abramason. The award is sponsored by Lowel-Light

The Best Editing Awards:

Feature:  POLICE BEAT, editors Mark Winitsky and Joe Shapiro (Directed By Robinson Devor), highly unconventional crime film in which the protagonist is so preoccupied with his possibly unfaithful girlfriend that he never once acknowledges the criminal world that swirls around him.

Documentary: FAVELA RISING, editor/director Jeff Zimbalist. (Co-Directed by Matt Mochary).

Jurors for these awards included Sabine Hoffman, James Lyons and Sabine Krayenbuhl.

The Honorary Maverick Award was presented to independent film acting icon and LONESOME JIM (which screened at the 2005 Woodstock Film Festival) director, STEVE BUSCEMI.  Longtime friend and fellow actor, Aidan Quinn presented him with the award.

The Honorary Trailblazer Award was presented to indie film business visionary JOHN SLOSS.  The award presented to him by Ethan Hawke, with whom he worked with on the film “Before Sunset,” “Chelsea Walls,” and “Before Sunrise.”

Woodstock artist Steve Heller of Fabulous Furniture creates the handcrafted Award trophies.

The presenting sponsor of the 2005 Woodstock Film festival is MARKERTEK.COM, America’s largest broadcast supply house.


The Woodstock Film Festival has established itself as one of the best independent film events in the country by premiering exceptional films; hosting the most talented emerging and established professionals in the movie industry; presenting A-list concerts, parties, and panels; and creating innovative and stimulating programming year-round. The Woodstock Film Commission promotes sustainable economic development by attracting and supporting local film, video, and media production. The presenting sponsor of the sixth annual Woodstock Film Festival is Markertek.com, America’s largest broadcast supply house, based in Saugerties, NY.

For additional information, please visit www.woodstockfilmfestival.com.