meira blaustein
executive director

laurent rejto
development director

advisory board
aidan quinn
annie nocenti
bill plympton
bingham ray
david strathairn
eamonn bowles
ellen chenoweth
ethan hawke
fisher stevens
gill holland
griffin dunne
ira schreck
jeremiah newton
john sloss
judy arthur
lemore syvan
leon gast
liev schreiber
martha frankel
michael dorf
michael lang
peter saraf
ron nyswaner
sabine hoffman
sarah plant
stephen hays
stephen nemeth
steve savage
zachary sklar

joan mack
, chair
eva graham

eve cohen
ilene marder

joan quigley
laurent rejto

lauri andretta
stuart hammerman
tony conza



Contact: WFF Office 845-679-4265, (845)399-9034 or

Photos available at

7th Annual Woodstock Film Festival Wraps with Record Attendance and Sold-Out Screenings

Eleven Honorary Maverick Awards Presented To Packed House of Filmmakers And Industry Leaders.

  • DAY NIGHT DAY NIGHT captures Best Feature Film Award
  • BEYOND EYRUV named Best Documentary 

Presenters included Matt Dillon, Rosie Perez, Melissa Leo, John Sloss.

(Woodstock, NY)—October 15, 2006—The 2006 Woodstock Film Festival bestowed its Honorary Maverick Award for BEST FEATURE NARRATIVE on director Julia Loktev's  DAY NIGHT DAY NIGHT at the WFF Maverick Awards Ceremony, Saturday, October 14th , at the Colony Café in Woodstock, New York.

DAY NIGHT DAY NIGHT tells the story of a 19-year old girl, who conspires with three masked men as they prepare her for a suicide mission. The men tell her precisely what to do, how to do it and then drop her off in the middle of Time Square with a bomb strapped to her back.

*Honorary Mention - SWEDISH AUTO directed by Derek Sieg

Feature Jurors: John Anderson (film critic and author), Arianna Bocco (IFC Entertainment, VP of Acquisitions & Production) and Bingham Ray (former United Artists president and currently an IFC Films consultant).

The Maverick Award for BEST FEATURE DOCUMENTARY went to BEYOND EYRUV  directed by John Mounier.

Documentary Jurors: Eugene Hernandez (IndieWire founder and editor-in-chief), and Rachel Grady (co-founder, Loki Films and director) and Molly Thompson (A & E Indie Films).

The AUDIENCE AWARD for DOCUMENTARY FEATURE was a virtual tie between Barbara Kopple's SHUT UP AND SING and Rachel Libert's BEYOND CONVICTION.

The AUDIENCE AWARD for NARRATIVE FEATURE was a virtual tie between Susanne Bier's AFTER THE WEDDING and Udi Aloni's FORGIVENESS.

The Maverick Award for BEST SHORT DOC went to UNIVERSAL MOVEMENT MACHINE: MESHELL MELVIN, directed by Kirby Hammond.

Short Doc Jurors: Academy Award-winning filmmaker Leon Gast (When We Were Kings), Cynthia Kane (Sundance Channel consultant and author), and Liz Ogilvie (Docurama Films head programmer).

The Diane Seligman Award for BEST SHORT NARRATIVE went to THE SHOVEL directed by Nick Childs.

* Honorary Mention went to K-7, directed by Christopher Leone.

Short Jurors: Larry Fessenden (writer, director, editor, The Last Winter, Habit, No Telling and Wendigo), Norman Reedus (actor, Boondock Saints) and Rachel Sheedy (agent, Don Buchwald Agency).

The Diane Seligman Award for BEST STUDENT SHORT FILM went to POP FOUL directed by Moon Molson.

* Honorary Mention – A VERY SMALL TRILOGY OF LONELINESS directed by Bojdon Apetri.

Student Film Jurors: Amy Gossels (independent producer, casting director), Jeffrey Abramson (Vice President of Film Division, Gen Art), and Melissa Leo (actor, 21 Grams, Racing Daylight, The Three Burials of Melquiades Estrada).

The Maverick Award for BEST ANIMATED FILM went to DREAMS & DESIRES-FAMILY TIES directed by Joanna Quinn.

* Honorary Mention – THE TALE OF HOW directed by the Blackheart Gang.

Animation Jurors: Bill Plympton (Academy-award winning cartoonist, animator), and Signe Baumane (animator)

The Haskell Wexler Award for BEST CINEMATOGRAPHY went to David Morrison for STEPHANIE DALEY.

Cinematography Juror: Five-time Academy Award-nominee Haskell Wexler, A.S.C. (One Flew Over the Cuckoos Nest, Coming Home).

The Award for Best Editing of a Feature Documentary went to Gloria la Morte and Joseph la Morte for AUTUMN’S EYES.

The Award for Award for Best Editing of a Feature Narrative went to Boogie Dean, Vinnie Angel and Arthur Wilinski for THE ORANGE THIEF.

Editing Jurors: Alex Halpern (actor, director, screenwriter, Post Factory founder and co-CEO), Sabine Hoffman (editor, Personal Velocity, The Ballad of Jack and Rose), and Sabine Krayenbühl (editor, The Bridge, Mad Hot Ballroom).

The HONORARY TRAILBLAZER AWARD was presented to IFC Chairman JONATHAN SEHRING. Actor/Director  Matt Dillon presented the award with former Trailblazer winner, producer John Sloss.

The HONORARY MAVERICK AWARD was presented to two-time Academy Award-winning filmmaker BARBARA KOPPLE, whose new Dixie Chicks documentary, SHUT UP AND SING closes the festival Sunday. Actress /Director Rosie Perez presented the award.


The seventh annual The Woodstock Film Festival takes place October 11-15, 2006. The ‘fiercely independent’ event will include more than 150 films, panels, concerts, and special events that will be featured at venues in Woodstock and the neighboring towns of Rhinebeck, Hunter, and Rosendale. Visit for ticket and more detailed program information.

Over the years, the Woodstock Film Festival has established itself as one of the best independent film events in the country by premiering exceptional films, hosting the most talented emerging and established professionals in the movie industry, presenting A-list concerts, parties and panels, and creating innovative and stimulating programming year-round.

The Woodstock Film Festival is a not-for-profit, 501(c)(3) organization with a mission to present an annual program and year-round schedule of film, music, and art-related activities that promotes artists, culture, inspired learning, and diversity. The Hudson Valley Film Commission promotes sustainable economic development by attracting and supporting film, video, and media production.

For information contact (845) 679-4265 or visit

P.O Box 1406, Woodstock, NY 12498 - (845) 679-4265 -