PANEL: Music For Change
Utopia Studios WOODSTOCK
10/02/2010, 4:00PM
$ 15

Sponsored by BMI

Doreen Ringer Ross is the Vice-President of Film/TV Relations at BMI. She has worked in the music industry for over two decades and currently specializes in outreach to the film and music communities.

Kenneth Bowser
Miriam Cutler
Sussan Deyhim
Summer Love (Naomi Preney)
Ron Mann
John Sebastian
Justin Sane

Kenneth Bowser is a director of documentaries, feature films and episodic television and specializes in crafting stories about American culture. In addition to “Phil Ochs: There But For Fortune,” he is the writer, producer and director of NBC’s Emmy-nominated network special, “Live From New York: The First Five Years of Saturday Night Live,” celebrating the 30th Anniversary of SNL. He also worked on the SNL network specials for the 80s and 90s and is currently creating the 2000s episode. His next project is a narrative feature based on Peter Biskind’s bestseller entitled “Down & Dirty Pictures.”

BMI Composer Miriam Cutler co-produced and scored the documentary "One Lucky Elephant" competing this year at the Woodstock Film Festival. Other scores include "Ghosts of Abu Grhaib", "Family Affair", "Chris and Don", "Lost in La Mancha", "Licensed to Kill". Cutler is a lab advisor at the Sundance Documentary Composers Lab and has served on documentary juries at the Sundance Film Festival, Independent Spirit Awards, IDA and AFI Awards.

Sussan Deyhim is an Iranian composer, vocalist and performance artist. Deyhim’s wide-ranging collaborations with leading artists have included Peter Gabriel, Jerry Garcia, The Blue Man Group and prominent female visual artists Shirin Neshat and Sophie Calle. Currently Deyhim is working on “The House is Black,” based on the work and life of the literary icon of Iranian contemporary poetry Forough Farrokhzad.

Summer Love (Naomi Preney) has produced several short documentaries showcasing up-and-coming Canadian fashion designers and musicians. With her company, Deltatime Productions, she heads up a team of creative talent whose passion for music and politics helped create her fi rst feature documentary, “Sounds Like a Revolution.”

Ron Mann makes award winning feature documentaries that focus on alternative and dissent culture. WFF has been showing Mann’s films since “Go Further,” a musical-eco-road movie about activism and sustainable living. This year, WFF is pleased to present “In the Wake of the Flood,” which puts Margaret Atwood’s words to music for change.

As the leader of the folk-rock band the Lovin’ Spoonful, John Sebastian was responsible for a string of Top Ten hits in 1965-1967 that included the chart-toppers “Daydream” and “Summer in the City,” and he returned to number one in 1976 as a solo artist with “Welcome Back.” As an instrumentalist, primarily playing harmonica, he has accompanied a wide range of artists including Judy Collins, Crosby, Stills & Nash, the Doors, Bob Dylan, Laura Nyro, Graham Parker, Dolly Parton, Peter, Paul & Mary, John Prine, and Bonnie Raitt. He was inducted into the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame in 2000.

Justin Sane is the founding member of the seminal punk band Anti-Flag. Sane is a founding member of the non-profit Military Free Zone. He has worked with Amnesty International, Green Peace, PETA and numerous other organizations.

If you have any questions email

The Woodstock Film Festival is a not-for-profit, 501 (C)(3) organization with a mission to present an annual program and year-round schedule of film, music, and art-related activities that promote artists, culture, inspired learning, and diversity. The Hudson Valley Film Commission promotes sustainable economic development by attracting and supporting film, video and media production.
Copyright, 2000-2010     Woodstock Film Festival, Inc., a not-for profit organization